January 16

Inspiring Blogging Excitement

 

Buzzing with excitement.  Eager to check comments.  Requests to please publish my blog.  Excellent blog writing conventions on the first one turned in.  This is what I want for my 4th and 5th graders.  I want them to be inspired to share their thinking with others and to grow new ideas as they have meaningful conversations with others around the world.  We have just started blogging this year.  Each student has their own blog.  We have done some of the basic hello blogs, create an avatar and share a book review.  My next push is to create more excitement for publishing a blog.  It is a push to get some students to complete blogs and it is a BIG PUSH  to have excellent conventions so that the blog can actually be published.  I have done choose your own topic with some success.

I believe at this age that a quality blog is one that is meaningful, easy to read and you can tell that the writer had something to say.  The blogs that are the most fun to read are the blogs where you really get to know the writer and you can connect with what they are trying to say.  I want my students to enjoy sharing their thoughts and ideas.  Connecting and communicating with others is powerful!

What things are other teachers doing to inspire these young bloggers?

 

 

 


Posted January 16, 2018 by jnovy22 in category Uncategorized

1 thoughts on “Inspiring Blogging Excitement

  1. Vicki

    I love your home page layout and your thoughts on inspiring students to blog. I haven’t started blogging yet with my class, who are a similar age but it will be great to be able to show them what young people in other parts of the world are writing about.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *